Skip to content
Optometry student and faculty in the clinic.

MCPHS School of Optometry Receives Full Accreditation

  • The School of Optometry at Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (MCPHS) has received notification from the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) that the Doctor of Optometry program has now been granted the classification of “Accredited". This status indicates that the program meets the published ACOE standards.

    "As we look to the future, the University is fully committed to supporting the School of Optometry’s goals as we continue to strengthen the programmatic outcomes," said Caroline Zeind, Provost, in a message to the MCPHS community. "The optometry program is committed to focusing on the curriculum, student education, and clinical experiences. The efforts and participation of students has helped this young program develop and mature for which we are most appreciative."

    The School of Optometry on the Worcester campus enrolled its first class in 2012, and empowers students for exciting future careers in optometry through a combination of expert instruction, hands-on experience, and innovative curriculum. The Worcester campus is home to the Eye and Vision Center, a comprehensive treatment center where students work with real patients from the local community.

    "An education through the School of Optometry at MCPHS will introduce a lifetime of learning and provide you with great academic challenges, as well as great satisfaction of achievement," said Morris Berman, Dean of the School of Optometry.

    Zeind points to the passion and commitment from the School of Optometry as instrumental in the program's status change.

    "We wish to congratulate Dr. Morris Berman, Dean of the School of Optometry, along with his executive leadership team, Dr. Amy Falk, Dr. Greg Waldorf, and Dr. Larry Baitch, and the Optometry faculty, staff, and students," said Zeind. "We also thank the Founding Dean of the School of Optometry and University Trustee, Dr. Les Walls, for his longstanding dedication and significant contributions to the program."