Title IX at MCPHS University – It’s All About Respect!

To the MCPHS University Community:

MCPHS University is committed to creating and fostering a positive learning, working and living environment where all members of our community can thrive. Federal laws, like Title IX (prohibiting discrimination based on sex or gender), the Clery Act (mandating reporting of crimes on campus), and the 2013 Campus SaVE Act (broadening the scope of responsibility to include dating violence, domestic violence and stalking), embody the obligations of colleges and universities to provide a safe and secure educational environment free from discrimination, harassment and violence.

It is important that all members of the MCPHS University community be part of our support and response systems for sexual and gender-based harassment and violence. We must all work together to sustain and improve robust and effective practices to address this serious issue.

As you review the information concerning Title IX on the MCPHS University web site, please feel free to contact the University’s Title IX Coordinator, Dawn Ballou, or me directly to express any concerns or to provide your suggestions to improve the University’s policies and practices.

Sincerely,
Charles F. Monahan, Jr.
President

Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972 – 20 U.S.C. § 1681-1688.
http://www.dol.gov/oasam/regs/statutes/titleix.htm

“No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving federal financial assistance…” – Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972 to the 1964 Civil Rights Act.

MCPHS University is committed to providing a safe and positive living, learning, and working environment. The University has a responsibility to ensure that all students, staff, faculty, and visitors can enjoy the benefits and opportunities the University has to offer in an environment free from discrimination on the basis of sex, including sexual assault and sexual harassment.

Title IX Coordinator

Dawn M. Ballou, JD
617.732.2077
dawn.ballou@mcphs.edu
Boston 

Title IX Deputies

Will Cribby, Assistant Dean of Students
Worcester and Newton Campuses
508.373.5779
will.cribby@mcphs.edu

Katherine Decelles, Associate Controller
617.735.1016 
katherine.decelles@mcphs.edu

Vanessa Dominguez, Director of Disability Services
617.879.5925 
vanessa.dominguez@mcphs.edu 

Sue Gorman, NESA Executive Director
774.243.3488
sue.gorman@mcphs.edu

Jacinda Félix Haro, Senior Associate Dean
617.732.2929 
jacinda.felixharo@mcphs.edu

Eileen Katz, Director of Human Resources
508.373.5871 
eileen.katz@mcphs.edu

Jessica Morris, Senior Associate Dean
508.373.5640 
jessica.morris@mcphs.edu

Joshua Parsons, Director of Student Affairs
617.879.5027 
joshua.parsons@mcphs.edu

Irene Stefanakos, Director of Residential Living and Learning
617.732.2866 
irene.stefanakos@mcphs.edu

Eric Thompson, Executive Director of Enrollment Services
617.732.2297 
eric.thompson@mcphs.edu

Seth Wall, Executive Director
Worcester and Manchester Campuses
603.314.1791 
seth.wall@mcphs.edu

Public Safety
Jack Kelly, Chief of Public Safety
617.732.2143
Jack.kelly@mcphs.edu

George Sherrill, Captain 
Worcester Public Safety
508.373.5823
george.sherrill@mcphs.edu

William Teuber, Lieutenant
Manchester Public Safety
603.314.1791 
william.teuber@mcphs.edu

Office of Student Affairs
Linda Brown, Associate Dean – Manchester
603.314.1779
linda.brown@mcphs.edu

Craig Mack, EdD, Dean of Students
617.732.2929 
craig.mack@mcphs.edu

MCPHS University has equitable procedures in place to promptly, thoroughly and fairly address concerns and complaints of sexual harassment or discrimination while being mindful of the rights and needs of all parties.

Title IX Brochure

Victims' Bill of Rights – Boston

Victims' Bill of Rights – Worcester

Victims' Bill of Rights – Manchester

Reporting Options

In the case of an emergency, call 911 and then contact the University Office of Public Safety. In a non-emergency situation, contact the Office of Public Safety, which can provide assistance in notifying the appropriate law enforcement agency, e.g., police, District Attorney, etc.

Anyone who has witnessed, knows about, or has experienced sexual harassment or other sex discrimination, is encouraged to seek help and report his or her concerns. There are a number of ways to report concerns and to get needed information, assistance, and resources.

Retaliation of any kind against individuals who report concerns or who participate in an investigation process is prohibited.

CRIMINAL COMPLAINTS AND REPORTS

POLICE
911 – Emergency – All Campuses

MCPHS PUBLIC SAFETY
BOSTON (non-emergency) 617-732-2900
WORCESTER (non-emergency) 508-373-5800
MANCHESTER (non-emergency) 603.314.1771

http://www.mcphs.edu/About MCPHS/Emergency Information

UNIVERSITY COMPLAINTS AND REPORTS

Title IX Coordinator or Title IX Deputies (see above)

Dean of Students Office
BOSTON 617-732-2929
WORCESTER 508-373-5646
MANCHESTER 603-314-1783

University Hotline