optometry scholarship winners posing
Student Success

Optometry Students Receive Practice of Excellence Scholarship

optometry scholarship winners posing

Congratulations to Optometry students Taylor Hall and Danielle Zapata, recipients of the prestigious American Academy of Optometry Foundation and VSP Global Practice Excellence Scholarship.

Nearly $200,000 was awarded to several top-performing fourth-year optometry students in the United States, Puerto Rico, and Canada, as well as four additional international students from Australia. Scholarship recipients were selected based on key criteria, including the student's commitment to enter the independent practice of optometry, and their clinical and academic performance.

Each scholarship included a travel grant to participate in the American Academy of Optometry's 98th annual meeting, Academy 2019 Orlando, which was held on October 23-27 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, FL. The recipients were recognized at a special reception sponsored by VSP Global.

Interested in a career in optometry? Explore the MCPHS Doctor of Optometry program.