Skip to content

Academics

Will classes for fall 2021 be in person, online, or both?

MCPHS plans on a full return to campus in fall 2021. Students in programs that are campus-based are expected to return to their respective campuses for their courses, labs, and other required activities. There may be some course components that will be offered online. And in some programs, students can choose some online courses as part of their course load. But the primary mode of delivery will be in person. Fully online programs will continue to operate the same, with online instruction and support. For any professional programs with specialty accreditation requirements, students are expected to meet the requirements in person. Accessibility needs will be accommodated.

How will lectures, demonstrations, and other instructional learning elements be delivered?

The primary plan for campus-based programs is in-person delivery of course content. Courses within the programs, however, will continue to utilize academic software to support and enhance in-person instruction. Technology will be used to supplement the delivery of lectures, online discussion, course projects, labs, demonstration activities, and small-group work.

Will the lab components of my courses go on as planned?

All academic programs that include lab courses and/or lab components within courses will determine what will be offered in person or online with remote instruction. Most labs will be delivered in person. Decisions regarding what will be offered in person and what will be delivered via technology will be made by the schools, in alignment with best practices, specialty accreditation requirements, and best use of lab resources. Delivery of hands-on labs will be conducted according to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Department of Public Health (DPH), and University requirements.

What will happen to clinical rotations and the clinic-based aspects of my courses?

Each academic program will ensure that decisions regarding clinical education are in alignment with specialty accreditation and regulatory agency and clinical affiliate site requirements, as well as CDC, DPH, and state and local guidance. Each academic program will determine the personal protective equipment needs of students based on the requirements of clinical affiliate sites and will support these needs.

All students will be notified of site-specific requirements in advance of their clinical rotation assignments to ensure that they are prepared to follow the COVID-19 and other health screening requirements. Students will need to follow the clinical site’s requirements with respect to COVID-19 vaccination and other protocols.

The Clinical Education leadership team for MCPHS on-site clinics will determine clinic-based education plans and patient care services based on CDC, DPH, and other relevant guidance (accreditation or regulatory).

What academic support resources will be available?

The Center for Academic Success and Enrichment will provide outreach and academic support services online; this includes academic advising, tutoring, academic coaching strategies, development of Academic Success Plans, peer mentor support for Introduction to the Major courses, and more.

Tutoring will continue to be offered via online platforms for Boston-based programs. For students in the Worcester/Manchester-based programs, some peer tutoring and professional tutors will be available in person in addition to online services. Specialized tutoring will be provided online by the Writing Center, the English Language Resource Center, and the Math/Physics Center. Individual faculty will be engaged to offer discipline-specific tutoring as needed.

What are the equipment and technology requirements for online classes?

To help you decide what computer to purchase for distance learning, MCPHS has created a list of minimum and recommended specs, for both Macs and PCs. All students are required to have access to a laptop that meets the required specifications. If you need help in obtaining a laptop, you may use the following link: Student Laptop Information. If you need assistance with meeting this requirement, you may contact Student Financial Services at 617.732.2864.

How will exams be administered?

Each school is responsible for the administration of exams and determining their mode of delivery. Some exams will be administered in person, but online testing processes will continue to be utilized as well. This includes both proctored and unproctored testing tools, such as ExamSoft, Blackboard, and Respondus. To understand the exam administration processes for your school, please consult with your dean or program director (contact information listed in the next section).

Whom do I contact if I have questions about my program?

For questions regarding your specific program, please email the dean or program director of your school (contact info listed below).

New England School of Acupuncture: Dennis Moseman, Dean, dennis.moseman@mcphs.edu

School of Arts and Sciences: Delia Anderson, Dean and Associate Provost, delia.anderson@mcphs.edu

Forsyth School of Dental Hygiene: Dianne Smallidge, Interim Dean, dianne.smallidge@mcphs.edu

School of Healthcare Business: Michael Spooner, Dean, michael.spooner1@mcphs.edu

School of Medical Imaging and Therapeutics: Frances Keech, Dean, frances.keech@mcphs.edu

School of Nursing: Tammy Gravel, Interim Dean, tammy.gravel@mcphs.edu

School of Occupational Therapy: Douglas Simmons, Program Director, douglas.simmons@mcphs.edu

School of Optometry: Maryke Neiberg, Dean, maryke.neiberg@mcphs.edu

School of Pharmacy (Boston): Stephen Kerr, Interim Dean, stephen.kerr@mcphs.edu

School of Pharmacy (Worcester/Manchester): Anna Morin, Dean, anna.morin@mcphs.edu

School of Physical Therapy: Frances Kistner, Program Director, frances.kistner@mcphs.edu

School of Physician Assistant Studies (Boston): Christopher Cooper, Program Director, christopher.cooper@mcphs.edu

School of Physician Assistant Studies (Worcester/Manchester): Kristy Altongy-Magee, Program Director, kristy.altongy-magee@mcphs.edu

What do I do if I need to meet with someone in the Office of Student Affairs?

Any student needing to meet with a dean in the Office of Student Affairs on campus can contact them via email or phone (see below). Meetings with deans will take place remotely.

What do I do if I’m going to be absent from class?

Documented absences can be submitted using these links:

COVID-19 Team Contact Information

covid19team@mcphs.edu
617.732.2798